• 11/30/2019

An outstanding performance by the orchestra and soloists, under the baton of Maestro Domine, was presented Saturday evening, May 19th, to a most appreciative audience. 

Following the National Anthem, the first work was Franz Liszts' exciting Hungarian Rhapsody. Composed in 1847 for the piano, it was the second, and is by far the most famous, in a set of 19 rhapsodies. It was published in 1851, which then led to its being transcribed for orchestra. 

The next composition, Piano Concerto #2 in C minor, by James Domine, was performed brilliantly by three talented pianists: Knarik Petrosyan played the first movement; Marsenne Cabral the second, and Charlotte Fan the third. These young ladies did Maestro Domine proud, and the audience showed their delight with a standing ovation, great applause. and lots of cheers! 

After intermission, the orchestra returned for the final piece of the evening, Antonin Dvorak's magnificent Symphony #9 in E minor (From the New World), which is considered to be one of the greatest in the repertoire. It is beautiful and meaningful; Maestro Domine's conducting and the orchestra's playing touched the hearts of everyone in the theater. If you are familiar with it, you know why that is. If you are not, do yourself a favor and listen to it. You will be glad you did.

This concert, the last of this season, was a resounding success. We look forward to our 2018-2019 season, beginning in September, and look forward to seeing you in the audience. Have a very nice summer!









**Buy from by clicking the icon below; it supports the Orchestra! No extra cost to the purchaser.**

Donate to the Orchestra

Tribute Text or Name of Contributor:

 The cost of concerts is not covered by tickets alone.
We need your support! Whether large or small - every donation counts.
Thank you!


(The San Fernando Valley Symphony Orchestra is a non-profit 501-c3 organization)